Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Seven Rapids Alumni Players on Soccer Hall of Fame Ballot

The National Soccer Hall of Fame released its final ballot for the Class of 2010 and 7 fomer Colorado Rapids players are on the list of the 24 candidates.

Here is the full list of candidates (Rapids Alumni Players and the years they played for Colorado are highlighted in bold):

Mike Burns, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Raul Diaz Arce (2001), Thomas Dooley, John Doyle, Marco Etcheverry, Robin Fraser (2001-03), Chris Henderson (1996-98 & 2002-05), Eduardo Hurtado, Dominic Kinnear (1996), Roy Lassiter, Shannon MacMillan, Joe-Max Moore, Victor Nogueira, Peter Nowak, John O’Brien, Cindy Parlow, Preki Radosavljevic, Mike Sorber, Earnie Stewart, Steve Trittschuh (1996-98), Carlos Valderrama (2001-02), Tisha Venturini-Hoch, Peter Vermes (1997-99).

Appearing on the ballot for the first time are Chris Henderson, Eduardo Hurtado, and John O’Brien.

Those in the final year of eligibility on the Player Ballot are Thomas Dooley, John Doyle, Dominic Kinnear and Mike Sorber. If not elected, these players will be on the Veteran Player Preliminary Ballot in 2011.

Voters in the player election include selected members of the media, Hall of Famers, past and present U.S. Men’s and Women’s National Team coaches, MLS and WPS coaches of four or more years tenure, and a select group of soccer administrators. The ballot deadline is November 19. The results will be announced in early 2010.

Voters will be able to select up to 10 candidates for entry, with all candidates that appear on 66.7 percent of ballots being inducted.

For full details, visit the National Soccer Hall of Fame website.


No comments: